传统节日

诺鲁孜

这个伊朗传统节日可以追溯到三千年前,它源自于索罗亚斯德教,这个古老的伊朗宗教对后来的基督教、犹太教以及伊斯兰教影响深远。诺鲁孜被认为是一年中最隆重的节日,信仰不同宗教的伊朗人都会庆祝这个节日。人们开始从三月二十一号起开始庆祝诺鲁孜,这一天是索罗亚斯德教霍尔希迪(太阳)年的开始。

诺鲁孜充斥着焕然一新、希望以及喜悦。冬天缓慢的逝去,新春悄然而至,白昼渐渐取代漫长的黑夜。诺鲁孜所有活动基本上是围绕焕然一新为主题而开展,包括个人焕然一新、友谊焕然一新和家庭焕然一新。

诺鲁兹节前几天在波斯人的每个家都能看到诺鲁兹桌子,桌子上放的东西的名字在波斯语中必须以“S”开始而且不能超过七个东西;所以这个桌子的名字就是“七S“。不同地方的人会选不同的东西,但是一般在诺鲁兹桌子上放:苹果,大蒜,草(花),沙棘,醋,硬币等等,每个东西在桌子上有特别的意思,比如硬币代表钱,苹果代表健康,草(花)代表新鲜等等。

Chaharshanbe Suri (跳火节)

在每个波斯年倒数星期二的夜晚,伊朗人都会举行一场庆祝火的节日,这个节日起源于古时的习俗和这个国家的历史。人们燃起篝火并跳跃于篝火之间,以祛除去年的不幸和不洁,准备着迎接新年的到来。

火,不仅对古波斯有深远的影响,同样对于印度人、欧洲人以及其他文化意义重大。古波斯人相信火有净化的功能。人们深信只有成功从火中走出的人才能证明他们的清白。人们会在他们的屋顶放上食物、糖果、鲜花和酒,并且为他们逝去的家人祈祷,愿他们安息。这项比伊斯兰教在伊朗更古老的跳火节将会在一年中最后五天举行。

 

Sizdeh Bedar (自然日)

自然日开始于伊朗新年的第十三天,标志着诺鲁孜的结束。波斯人庆祝自然日的传统活动是和家人以及朋友去户外野餐,一边烤肉串一边听伊朗音乐和跳舞。很有意思的是,13对于在很多文化中都象征着噩运,但是自然日却在这天庆祝。讽刺的是,这场宴请代表着消除一切厄运,所有的欢乐以及喜悦对于伊朗人来说,都是对噩运的祛除。

 

 

耶尔达之夜

全世界的伊朗人都会庆祝耶尔达节,这个节日是最古老的波斯节日之一。这个节日可以追溯于大部分波斯人信仰索罗亚斯德教而不是伊斯兰教时。

在耶尔达节时,人们庆祝冬天的到来,太阳的新生和光明对抗黑暗的胜利。耶尔达前夕被认为是一年中最长的夜晚,在这个夜晚中,古波斯人会庆祝密特拉-光明之神的诞生。

在这个夜晚,家庭成员会聚集在一起,度过这个漫长的黑夜。这个夜晚,人们会食用干果、西瓜和石榴,并且他们会大声的朗读古典诗歌和古老的传说。

伊朗人相信:但他们在冬天的开始吃夏季的水果可以防止在冬季生病。因此,吃西瓜是这个夜晚最重要的传统。石榴会被放在水果篮的最上面,寓意着生命的循环重生和子孙后代的繁衍。

Festivals

Nowruz

The holiday, dating back around 3000 years, is rooted in Zoroastrianism – an ancient Iranian religion that influenced later religions such as Christianity, Judaism and Islam.  Nowruz (Norooz) is considered to be one of the largest celebrations of the year, with Iranians coming from different religions all taking part in the festivities. Nowruz is celebrated on the 21st of March which also marks the first day of the Zoroastrian Khorshidi (solar) year. 

Nowruz is a time of renewal, hope and joy. As winter slowly fades away and spring starts approaches, the darkness gives way to light. The theme of renewal is a very important aspect of the customs surrounding Nowruz – including personal renewal, a renewal of friendships and a renewal of the home.

A famous decoration of Nowruz is the spread in homes which consists of seven important items beginning with the letter “s” or “seen”. Therefore it is called a haft-seen spread or table. The seven items are the following: Greenery, Wheat, barley or lentil sprouts grown in a dish (sabze); A sweet pudding made from germinated wheat (samanu); the dried fruit of the oleaster tree (senjed); Garlic (sir); Apple (sib); Sumac berries (somāq); Vinegar (serke).

Chaharshanbe Suri

In the evening of the last Tuesday of each Persian year, Iranians celebrate a fire festival with roots stemming from the ancient customs and history of the country. People light bonfires in the streets and jump over them to cleanse themselves from all the misfortunes and impurities of the past year and prepare to welcome the coming New Year.

Fire, not only in historic Persia, has always been held as sacred among Indians, Europeans and many other cultures.  Ancient Persians believed in the purity and purifying power of fire. The belief was so strong that, to prove one’s innocence, people had to cross through the fire. People also put food, sweets, flowers and wine on the roof of their houses and prayed for their dead to appease them. This is the origin of the fire festival in Persia before the arrival of Islam and was held during the last five days of the year.

Sizdeh Bedar

Sizdeh Bedar takes place on the 13th day of the Persian New Year and marks the end of the Norouz holiday.  It is customary for Persians to celebrate such day by spending the day outdoors picnicking with family and friends, grilling kebab whilst listening to Iranian music and dancing. It is interesting that Sizdeh Bedar takes place on the 13th day of the New Year becuase in most cultures 13 is a representation of bad luck. Ironically, this feast represents the eradication of all that is negative and all the cheerfulness and happiness is a response to Iranian’s rejection of bad luck.

 

Yalda night

Iranians all over the world celebrate Yalda, which is one of the most ancient Persian festivals. The festival dates back to the time when a majority of Persians were followers of Zoroastrianism prior to the introduction of Islam.

On Yalda festival, Iranians celebrate the arrival of winter, the renewal of the sun and the victory of light over darkness. Yalda eve is considered to be the longest night of the year and during this night; ancient Iranians celebrated the birth of Mithra, the goddess of light.

On this night, family members get together and stay up all night long. Dried nuts, watermelon and pomegranate are served during the night, and classic poetry and old mythologies are read aloud.

Iranians believe that those who start their winter by eating summer fruits would not fall ill during the cold season. Therefore, eating watermelons is one of the most important traditions in this night. Pomegranates, placed on top of a fruit basket, are reminders of the cycle of life–the rebirth and revival of generations.